Oh No, I Just Became My Mother!

It happened. I don’t know how, I don’t know why.

I don’t know when it happened.

It just did.

Children beg, plead, cry, promise they will

do the dishes, clean the house, mow the lawn,

If only.

If only they could go to the movies, have a sleepover,

Our house, friend’s house, outside, inside.

My answer, no!

Their question, why?

My response,

Because I am your mother, that’s why!

And then it hit me.

My mother’s words echoed in my ear.

Same tone of voice, same non explanation

Just the same answer she gave me.

Crying, pouting, stomping out the door.

The meanest mother in the world.

That was me then, and someday

It will be them, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh No, I Just Became My Mother!

  1. Kat Juniper says:

    Happy Mother’s Day! (I can’t imagine anyone ever thinking you were the meanest mother in the world).

  2. Alice Lynn says:

    I guess that’s why mother rule. Their wisdom sinks into our childish brains and, with the right trigger (why can’t I? Everybody else can) the words of wisdom flow automatically and civilization as we know it, is preserved!

  3. Orice Klaas says:

    This is so true! I dearly love my mother, BUT not every little detail. Your poem says it so well! Thanks for sharing it!

  4. Orice Klaas says:

    I remember the Dreaded day I became my mother too. Then I had to start loving both her and myself. You pick lovely topics for your writing.

Leave a Reply

